Geekerella by Ashley Poston

I absolutely love fairy tale reworkings, especially in the YA genre, and this one does not disappoint. A retelling of Cinderella, Geekerella reads like the Geek Girls Guide, with a true and complete understanding of the geek fandom lifestyle. Elle and Sage are the perfect team as they go on this adventure together, and the “evil” stepmom and twin stepsisters are fleshed out to not just be flat, mean people, but very nuanced in why they are the way they are. The love story between Elle and Darien builds beautifully and I loved how both characters fumble through it but ultimately prevail. The best part of the book however is how accurately Poston captures what these various fandoms mean to so many people. There were several times that my eyes filled with tears as Elle described how Starfield helps make her feel accepted and understood in the crazy world of being a teen girl.  This book is a fun adventure and definitely one of of my favorite YA Books for 2017!

Waking Gods By Sylvain Neuvel

I was eagerly anticipating this sequel to Sleeping Giants and was so happy to get a ARC of this thanks to NetGalley. Written with the same style of interviews as the first book, Waking Gods reunites us with familiar characters, Rose, Kara, and Vincent as they continue to work with and understand Themis, ten years in the future. But when another alien robot suddenly appears in downtown London, the game changes from research to war. This series is sci-fi blended perfectly with a thriller attitude. Full of new subplots, secret government organizations with mysterious men, and some of the best twists in the series so far, Waking Gods is definitely making me go crazy for the next installment in this exciting series.

Feral By James DeMonaco and B.K. Evenson

A dystopian novel that is scary, creepy and features women kicking butt! From the writer/director of “The Purge” movies, Feral explores what happens when women are left to fend for themselves after all of the men are infected with a genetically engineered virus that makes them violent and blood-thirsty, causing them to hunt women down and slaughter them.

The main character Allie is well developed and an emotional character to explore. Her mental toughness is balanced by the love she has for her sister and her loyalty to the community she is protecting and scavenging for. Each of the female characters add an aspect to the story that makes the whole community work well within the disaster they are living in, and the Sam twist definitely kept me reading. A fast paced read, filled with action, plenty of gore and horror. Although this book is marketed as an adult horror novel, I feel like this falls more into the YA genre and will be very successful with readers who like The Hunger Games and Divergent series.