Category Archives: Horror

Feral By James DeMonaco and B.K. Evenson

A dystopian novel that is scary, creepy and features women kicking butt! From the writer/director of “The Purge” movies, Feral explores what happens when women are left to fend for themselves after all of the men are infected with a genetically engineered virus that makes them violent and blood-thirsty, causing them to hunt women down and slaughter them.

The main character Allie is well developed and an emotional character to explore. Her mental toughness is balanced by the love she has for her sister and her loyalty to the community she is protecting and scavenging for. Each of the female characters add an aspect to the story that makes the whole community work well within the disaster they are living in, and the Sam twist definitely kept me reading. A fast paced read, filled with action, plenty of gore and horror. Although this book is marketed as an adult horror novel, I feel like this falls more into the YA genre and will be very successful with readers who like The Hunger Games and Divergent series.

My Best Friend’s Exorcism by Grady Hendrix

51l0jbkloyl

Take teenage angst, set it in the 1980’s and throw in a little demonic possession for good measure and you have a book that is a fun ride. Abby and Gretchen, along with Margaret and Glee, are a tight group of friends. Until one night of skinny dipping doesn’t go as planned, and Gretchen seems somehow “changed.”  Word of warning: Do not read this book at night because you will get the creeps big time.

The thing I liked most about this book is how the “possessed” Gretchen behaved towards her friends, and how accurately this parallels how girls in high school tend to treat each other: kind one day, brutal and hateful the next. Half the time I was wondering if Gretchen was truly possessed or just a jerk. If you love YA and horror, this one will scratch both itches.

Horrorstor by Grady Hendrix

51hggt7LL+L._SX258_BO1,204,203,200_

Decided to thumb through my back list and finally got to a book that had come highly recommended to me about a year ago.  If you are a fan of the shows “The Office” or “Superstore”, but feel like they should included possessions, ghosts and abject terror, then this is definitely the book for you.  Orsk is a furniture store that openly acknowledges the fact that it is an IKEA knockoff.   Staffed by hundred of partners, it aims to make its customers feel like they are right at home when they shop.  However, it seems the store may be home to more than just shoppers of the living sort.  After finding vandalism had occurred in the store while it is closed, some of the staff stay overnight to figure out what is going on and find way more than they could even imagine.   This book is absolutely terrifying, yet very funny at times, and even incorporates “catalog features”, Orsk employee guides, and even a store map that is supposed to help you not get lost.  Just remember to stay on the pathway…