Tag Archives: thriller

Final Girls by Riley Sager

Loved Loved Loved!  A psychological thriller that kept me guessing until the very end.  In the tradition of “Gone Girl” and “Girl on the Train”, Final Girls uses the unreliable narrator trope perfectly to weave a story that is believable, thrilling and a fun ride. It calls to mind some of the great “slasher” films and has a gripping ending that I did not see coming.  I would advise anyone getting ready to read this to buckle up and allow yourself to get sucked into the world of the “Final Girls.”

Mad Miss Mimic by Sarah Henstra

514lguhd6el-_sx316_bo1204203200_

This is well executed historical fiction from a YA perspective.  If you love Jane Austen, the Sherlock Holmes mysteries, or Ruta Sepetys, you will definitely want to try this book.  A very smart young lady named Leonora, or Leo for short, struggles with a terrible stammer that causes her to compensate by becoming a spot-on mimic of other people’s voices.  Charmed by a seemingly handsome, rich and good Lord, Leo gets swept up into an opium plot that threatens to literally blow up London.  Suspenseful, fast paced, and action packed, this book was a lot of fun to read and kept me guessing, as well as hoping that Leo would find her happily every after.